20 Movies I love: The Wedding Party

Remember I promised that I will do a review of 20 movies I love? These reviews are in no particular order.

It’s so fun to see the movies we have forgotten about with brand new eyes.

The Wedding Party is an exceptional movie. I call the emergence of that movie a new era in Nollywood. It is a union of two filmmaking gods, Kemi Adetiba and Mo’ Abudu to create a masterpiece. And I didn’t stutter when I say that the movie is a pacesetter as far as Nollywood is concerned.

It is Dozie Onwuka and Dunni Coker’s wedding day. They are in love with themselves, which is quite alright, but in typical Nigerian fashion, they have to contend with a lot drama right from the beginning of their big day. This includes late bridesmaids, a freak accident that put the original best man out of commission, switched menus, a torn wedding dress, hateful in-laws, a detour that made the parents assume the couple went awol, a drunken best man, uninvited guests, a robbery, rejected bougie cuisine, a leaked raunchy video, a bitter ex and a hyper active event planner.

It was one hell of a party!

Now I think we have spoken enough about the story line. Let’s talk about the technicalities.

The continuity is a solid ten. Well, the movie was supposed to happen in a day. And I could not see any lapses in the continuity. Not one. Every scene flowed seamlessly into each other.

Another thing I enjoyed in this movie is the costuming. A typical Nigerian wedding between a Yoruba woman and an Igbo man was brought to life. As someone who looks out for technical issues when I go to a party, especially a wedding, I didn’t see anything remotely wrong with this party and even the production, considering the fact that it was a Nigerian wedding brought to life. Several years after the production of this movie, the rewatch value is top notch. On a 5th rewatch, I enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed it the first time I saw it, and I was laughing hysterically.

This movie is hilarious! From Sola Sobowale with the excited Yoruba woman sounds to king of comedy, Ali Baba himself to ice queen, Ireti Doyle to sugar daddy RMD to drunken master Ikechuckwu to Harrison with the pink ‘guchee’ suit, Kunle ‘Frank Donga’ Idowu to Oyibo Pepper Daniella Down, to armed robber with the toy gun, Sambasa Nzeribe to Iya Michael local food, Jumoke George to the uninvited guests who ended up taking a lot of souvenirs home, Afeez ‘Saka’ Oyetoro and family. Even the event planner that was acting like she had a battery stuck in her rectum, Zainab Balogun, the cast delivered a 100 percent on the comedy.

And yes… need I say that this was the beginning of a beautiful collaboration between Kemi Adetiba, Sola Sobowale and Adesuwa Etomi-Wellington which paid off in King of Boys. Spectacular!

One scene that stands out tickled me in all the right ways. It was just good to see ‘Tin Tin’ Sola Sobowale and her ‘Bam Bam’ Ali Baba getting all mushy and cuddly in the middle of a robbery. It was really sweet and romantic, considering the chaos around. Moral lesson? Get you a man who is as sweet as Bam Bam and get you a woman who is crazy about you as Tin Tin.

The Part 2 is a hot mess. Kemi Adetiba’s impact was missed, so I won’t talk about it.

Cast includes Bankole ‘Banky W’ Wellington, Adesuwa Etomi-Wellington, Sola Sobowale, Atunyota Alleluya ‘Ali Baba’ Akpobome, Richard ‘RMD’ Mofe Damijo, Ireti Doyle, Ikechukw Onunaku, Enyinna Nwigwe, Somkele Idalama, Zainab Balogun, Daniella Down, Beverly Naya, Ayo Makun, Lepacious Bose, Sambasa Nzeribe, Emmanuel ‘Emma O my God’ Edunjobi, Afeez Oyetoro, Kunle ‘Frank Donga’ Idowu, Jumoke George, Adeolu Adefarasin, Mai Atafo,

9 stars.

Leave a comment